The Good Life!

October 23, 2008 at 11:35 am Leave a comment

There was a time, lots of years ago, when I first left my job to stay home with my son, that money was pretty tight. We’d been used to two salaries and it was a bit of an adjustment to live on one. I was a lot younger back than. (That “baby” is off at college now!) I didn’t mind living on boxed mac ‘n cheese or hamburger helper. I didn’t mind that our entire household was made up of mis-matched garage sale finds or hand-me-downs. I was young and skinny and looked good in jeans and cheap t-shirts.

Fast forward fifteen years. I’m 43 now. I have four kids: Jack is 18 and off at college; George is 13 and has lots of expensive hobbies; Kat is 10 and already wanting to keep up with the latest styles; and then there is 6 year old Lily, growing like a weed and needing new clothes every time I turn around. I’m tired of living in a mis-matched home. I’m not 28 anymore. Throwing on a t-shirt doesn’t get me out the door. I’ve learned how to cook and boxed, preservative-laden foods aren’t going to cut it anymore.

I shouldn’t have to give up the healthy lifestyle I want just to save money. Help me explore ways that I can keep my family — and myself — happy and healthy while staying on a budget!

Entry filed under: Random Musings. Tags: .

We’re the Lucky Ones

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

I'm a stay-at-home mom with four great kids, three cats and two dogs. I want to live the good life but I want to save money too and I'm not willing to live on boxes of mac 'n cheese and hamburger helper to do it! I deserve to have a life ... a good life!

Like Great Food?

Check out my other blog, I'm Running to Eat! for more great recipe ideas.

Feeds


