Breakfast Panini

October 26, 2008 at 10:54 am Leave a comment

A quick and easy way to turn a plain old bacon sandwich into a real meal.

A quick and easy way to turn a plain old bacon sandwich into a real meal.

Preparing an exciting meal for your family doesn’t have to be expensive. It just takes a little thought. You could throw a couple of slices of bacon on some bread and maybe even add a fried egg. That would be fine … but maybe a little boring. With a little more thought and not much more money, you can turn that ho-hum sandwich into something extraordinary.

This recipe that I found at a great blog called Inn Cuisine, starts out with a scrambled egg rather than fried. This is great for our family because I can control how much egg goes on each sandwich. It also allows you to stretch out the eggs if you need to make an extra sandwich or two. After scrambling the eggs, you layer the ingredients on some good bread. I am trying to save money but one area where I won’t scrimp is on good bread. I always try to find some good whole wheat bread for my family. Tomato, spinach leaves and cheese make this sandwich special. Any cheeses would work. I used Provolone because I had some left from the French Onion Soup I made last week. I didn’t have cheddar so I substituted some American cheese I had in the refrigerator. I left out the balsamic glaze because I was in a hurry and I forgot to add it. (Very sad because I love balsamic vinegar!) The sandwich had plenty of flavor without it though and brushing some olive oil flavored with dry herbs that you probably have in your spice rack already on the outside of the bread elevated this sandwich to the level of one I’d be willing to pay for!

For not much more money and not much more time, you have a filling and delicious meal that your family will request again and again!

Italian Breakfast Panini
Recipe courtesy Aska Lodge B&B, adapted from Relishmag.com

3 eggs
1/8 tsp. salt
Coarsely ground black pepper
2 (3/4 oz.) slices sharp Cheddar cheese
1 small Roma tomato, thinly sliced
1 small handful baby spinach leaves
4 slices cooked bacon or Canadian bacon
2 (3/4 oz.) slices Provolone
4 slices oatmeal, sourdough, or any dense bread
Balsamic glaze
3 T Olive oil mixed with 1 tsp.Italian seasoning

Scramble eggs with salt & pepper. Brush one side of each bread slice with olive oil mixture (this side will be out). Layer cheddar cheese, tomato, spinach, bacon, eggs (drizzled with Balsamic glaze) and Provolone on 2 slices of bread, top with remaining bread. Cook 3-5 minutes on panini grill or in a grill pan. Slice diagonally in half.

Yield: 2 servings or 4 half servings.

Entry filed under: Recipe. Tags: , , .

Creamy Onion Soup: Inexpensive Dinner for a Cool, Fall Evening Sometimes All You Have to Do is Ask

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

I'm a stay-at-home mom with four great kids, three cats and two dogs. I want to live the good life but I want to save money too and I'm not willing to live on boxes of mac 'n cheese and hamburger helper to do it! I deserve to have a life ... a good life!

Like Great Food?

Check out my other blog, I'm Running to Eat! for more great recipe ideas.

Feeds


