Menu Plan Monday (A Little Early!)

November 2, 2008 at 10:44 am 1 comment

One of the best ways to save money when grocery shopping is to make a list and stick to it. In order to do that, you need to know what you are going to be making. Taking a few minutes every week to jot down a menu for the week can cut down all of those last minute shopping trips that always result in several impulse buys. I try to take a few minutes every weekend to look through all the recipes I’ve bookmarked through the week and pick a few to try. I look at the calender so I know which nights we’ll be out or in a hurry so that I can plan accordingly. For instance, if I know we have the early basketball game, I might plan a meal around a crock pot recipe so that it will be ready when we come home. If I know that one night we’re going out or eating a meal at someone else’s home, I won’t plan a meal for that night and that way I won’t have food left in the refrigerator going to waste. I’m also flexible. I usually list 6 or 7 meals each week but I feel free to switch things around if the need arises. If suddenly I find that we’ll have dinner guests, I might switch to a pasta dish or something that stretches well and serve the chicken I’d originally planned on another night. If pork chops don’t sound good for some reason, I’ll switch nights and make pizza instead. I also keep my options open and might switch Thursday night from Fried Chicken to Blackened Chicken if we’re in the mood for something spicy. The goal is to actually use up what I buy for the week. I also pay attention when I’m shopping and adjust accordingly if there is a really good sale at the store. If chicken breasts are on sale, I might switch in another chicken dish instead of a beef or pork meal.

A good place to look for menu planning ideas is over at I’m an Organizing Junkie who hosts a weekly Menu Plan Monday Blogging Event. Check it out for lots of great ideas.

Here’s my plan for the week:

Monday: Basketball game! Florentine Frying Pan Pizza, salad

Tuesday: Basketball Game! Slow-cooked Pulled Pork Sandwiches, cole slaw, macaroni and cheese

Wednesday: Grilled Mozzerella Sandwiches with Tomato and Basil Tortellini Soup or Zesty Black Bean Soup

Thursday: Leftovers! I’m going to the Taste of Home Cooking Show!

Friday: Sweet Potato and Sausage Soup/Chicken Soup, bread, green salad

Saturday: Taco Night!

Sunday: Blasted Chicken, mashed butternut squash, salad

Entry filed under: Menu Planning. Tags: .

Soup: A Quick and Inexpensive Meal A Pantry is a Wonderful thing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Niki  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Blasted chicken sounds great!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

I'm a stay-at-home mom with four great kids, three cats and two dogs. I want to live the good life but I want to save money too and I'm not willing to live on boxes of mac 'n cheese and hamburger helper to do it! I deserve to have a life ... a good life!

Like Great Food?

Check out my other blog, I'm Running to Eat! for more great recipe ideas.

Feeds


